Asap Developers

Software engineers you can trust

5.0 (15 Reviews)
About Asap Developers
asap developers is a San Francisco App Development company. We specialize in web and mobile app development for iOS and Android. With our team of engineers and designers we’ve developed awesome MVPs for many startups and San Francisco Bay Area companies. ...
read more
$50 - $99/hr
10 - 49
2008
Uruguay, United States
Asap Developers
Software engineers you can trust
5.0 (15 Reviews)
14 Reviews
Craig LytleReviewed 1 month ago
Video player extension
Role: Chief Business Officer , Founder at at WaveOne, and AmperVue
Reviewed 1 month ago by Craig Lytle
Role: Chief Business Officer , Founder at at WaveOne, and AmperVue
Video player extension
WaveOne has built an AI-native video processing pipeline.

We wanted an open-source player that could play AI-native videos on both Android and iOS so we interviewed 10 different app development companies both in the US and offshore to carry out this task. We chose asap based on a combination of competence, strong English language skills, and convenient time zone.

asap took the open-source ExoPlayer video player in Android and forked it to decode AI-Native video streams. We worked with a lead engineer and two other engineers that worked on different aspects of the project. We also had weekly or as-needed meetings and project management was smooth overall.
Thanks to this project, WaveOne can now play AI-native video on mobile platforms.

We will definitely be in touch for our next project.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
In progress
Kenneth KeittReviewed 5 months ago
ParaPer4mance Inc
Reviewed 5 months ago by Kenneth Keitt
ParaPer4mance Inc
I’m the founder and CEO of ParaPer4mance. I was paralyzed in a car accident and, when I came out of the hospital, I realized there were no available resources for individuals with disabilities. This inspired me to found ParaPer4mance, a company that creates adapted solutions for individuals with mobility impairments. We provide access to scalable programs designed by professionals as a way to overcome the barriers and financial constraints that prevent these individuals from accessing hospital programs.

We started off with a website in August of 2019. We received positive feedback and I wanted to build it further to really build a community and a brand. I started to think about the idea of an app to reach my audience faster and learn about their needs. Products are not usually designed for individuals with mobility impairments, except when it comes to medical-grade items. We wanted to bring a different approach to it as far as building a community and really focusing on their needs and the voids within society, so we hired asap to build an app that took all of this into consideration. Our goals were to reach a wider audience, connect with the community and gather data to better create solutions for our users.

I chose asap after having interviews with six different companies. I’m a business major by trade so tech is not my strong suit. Someone advised me on what to look out for, but I went off based on the connection I felt. I discussed the vision and scope of the project with Pablo and the marketing/sales team and I felt they understood the passion behind the project. I felt that, while for other companies it was just another job, asap connected with the brand and helped build on areas I didn’t know were possible. They helped bring my idea into reality because they were standing behind my purpose and mission and I did not get that same feel with the other companies.

asap provided us with an app whose main feature is building a global community, starting in the United States. The MPV includes access to programs on mental health, nutrition, fitness and activities on daily living, designed by licensed professionals. It’s a rehabilitation service to help our users improve their quality of life.
The platform is free, but it includes the ParaPoint digital currency to motivate the community. As they engage with the app, build their community and friend network, and watch free content, they build their ParaPoint wallet which grants them access to higher-level programs. There’s free content, but as it becomes more premium, you need the ParaPoints to unlock it to motivate users to get engaged and be active in the community.

Regarding the team, I initially met with Pablo and then worked with a member of the design team and Victoria from marketing. I worked heavily with Gonzalo, the IT manager, and the frontend and backend designers.
Each team member had their own personality and I felt comfortable throughout the whole process. It was a very easy experience and it helped me learn about the technical aspect of the company and everything going on in the backend. I felt very involved in the process, everything was very transparent.
The project management was great except for one specific issue. I felt that there was not enough time between the release of one sprint and the beginning of the next one. It was distracting to be fixing issues from the previous sprint at the same time as working on the next one. Other than that, everything was great, I just think there should be a grace period between sprints.

The MVP has helped us move to the next level because the website didn’t fully portray where we were going. We are currently trying to raise funding and the MVP has helped us get interest from investors as they can now see what we are bringing to the table. We have just applied for an accelerated program through Snapchat, made it to the top 30 out of hundreds of applications and are in the second round of decisions to see if we make it to the top 10. Then, we’ll seed investment for $150,000 to be able to further build our product.
Also, we have just finished beta testing and received good feedback from the 60 users that tested the app and we will be using that to continue to build on it.

What do you like most about the company?
They have a very talented team with great personalities. For me, it was an easy process and when we go back to working on the app (we’re planning on redesigning, rebuilding and adding more features), I’m not planning to shop around. I’ll definitely continue to work with asap.

What they should improve on?
Just the grace period between sprints to focus on bug fixing because, specifically as a startup, it’s distracting to go into the next stage with issues of the previous one still unresolved. But other than that I can’t think of any changes or adjustments.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
App Designing (UI/UX)
Project Status:
In progress
Emiliano ChinelliReviewed on 5/5/20
Great partners
Role: Head of Software Development at Trafilea
Reviewed on 5/5/20 by Emiliano Chinelli
Role: Head of Software Development at Trafilea
Great partners
I’m Head of Software Development at Trafilea, an e-commerce company that builds online brands. Our leading brand is Shapermint.com, which made over $100 million in sales worldwide in 2019.

At Trafilea, we wanted to develop our own checkout technology. Our main goal was to design and implement this checkout system to help us gain a competitive edge. So we hired asap to develop this software for us using Python.

We chose the company after a thorough selection process using a decision matrix. There were around 19 companies involved in the process and we selected asap based on various criteria, such as size and location.

Asap provided us with this payment system, which is really valuable to us because it also incorporates some of our key business flows. It also allows us to get the highest traffic volume in Shopify (other than Shopify itself). This means this tech is important in terms of competitiveness as a brand in the global market. It gives us a competitive edge given the volume of transactions it can process and how it incorporates our main business strategies.

When it comes to the team, over the course of a year, the composition has changed somewhat but we are currently working with three people. One tech lead and two developers under a project manager from our own company. Regarding the project management itself, we were happy overall and believe it was effective. As I’ve mentioned, we have our own PM that deals with daily communication with asap development and their developers work as an extension of Trafilea. There is also a facilitator from asap if needed.

This project has given us a competitive edge. Most e-commerce companies don’t tackle this type of project and use pre-existing tools instead, as that’s easier. Moreover, this tool means we can now support subscriptions at a checkout level, which allows us to get our clients subscribed to our various services. A subscription-based system is nothing new, but it is not usually offered in this way in an e-commerce platform.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Software Development
Project Status:
In progress
Julio Antelo ReimersReviewed on 4/2/20
Excellent Human Skills
Role: Owner and General Manager at Conectorium
Reviewed on 4/2/20 by Julio Antelo Reimers
Role: Owner and General Manager at Conectorium
Excellent Human Skills
I am a writer and run Conectorium, a PWA that is basically a digital publisher of curated authors focused on local content with the ultimate goal to grow globally. I hired asap to develop the app and they now also provide support for it.

I wanted to create a medium to impart a philosophy that makes sense in today’s world; I wanted more philosophy and less clickbait. I believe the world needs people to stop and think why they are doing what they’re doing; to break away from the current confrontation narrative, to find things in common, and to work on ethics, empathy and common sense. If we don’t, we won’t be able to tackle the social, environmental and economic issues that we didn’t realize had been piling up.

For this project, I decided to look outside my home country of Bolivia, and I knew Uruguay and Brazil had some of the best tech talent in the region; as Uruguay has a more similar culture, I decided to look for developers there.
I found asap through reviews from some sources. I contacted several companies, but not all replied. From the ones who did, I liked asap’s proposal the best. I felt they were very clear, honest and transparent.

I'm an unusual client, and my project changed several times during the discovery phase. As a writer, I initially wanted an app where I could publish either a book or a magazine. That idea eventually evolved into an app where others would also write content.
Upon meeting Pablo G. and Pablo D., they helped me realize that making such an investment would only make sense if I was sure there was an interested audience.
With their help, I settled on an app to highlight local authors, where they could publish weekly articles or book chapters. At the same time, I wanted those pieces to be connected as a way to create a global conscience.
The resulting app that asap developed is a space for local writers to publish their content, all of which is connected, regardless of where they are. asap developed a simple subscription-based app with a home page that displays a new and different set of articles and/or book chapters every 24 hours. Users can discover additional content by following the links on each article or chapter.

As for the team, I had great synergy with Pablo Giampedraglia; he was able to help me find the solution I needed. Pablo Dacoll was also great to work with.
Once we discussed the project, we started talking with a creative team (Fabricio and Valentina, who worked in the UI/UX design throughout the project). We worked on a discovery phase and then the project changed. Then, once we started the development, the technical team (Gonzalo B., Patricia, Igor, Gonzalo L. and Libny – Patrica and Gonzalo going out of the way to find solutions) worked efficiently. They were very receptive and open to what I asked for and solved any issues that came up.
The project was fixed-price and they were very flexible at times when the situation in my country and my search for funding got complicated.
Project management was really good. The project ended up taking longer than planned because I added things along the way and some things were not as easy to develop as asap expected. Even then, the team did a great job of adjusting to the changes. It may not have been the most efficient path, but it was definitely effective. I’m really happy with the results we are getting.

It has also taught me to work with people and to trust others. It has also helped me see the value of committing to something all the way and trusting that you are doing something worthwhile, even when the path is not clear and you’re not sure what you’re doing.
When doing business, I usually go straight into action without much planning in advance other than financials and a basic overview. This project has taught me that I can’t do everything as I go, but that more planning and focus are necessary.

What do you like most about the company?

The human quality of the people in the team. There were very understanding, tactful and reassuring which is essential in a project like this one. I was particularly impressed with the team’s human touch and how flexible and understanding they were regarding my particular situation. Their empathy with their clients. Few great things can be accomplished without empathy and the ability to put yourself in the other person's shoes and be able to see things from their perspective. If you have that and common sense, everything will follow.

What they should improve on?

I can’t speak for the technical aspect as I’m not an expert, but they did find their way around when they stumbled upon any complications. I think they are aware of any issues they have and work hard to solve them.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
App Designing (UI/UX)
Project Budget:
$10001 to $50000
Project Duration:
36 Weeks
Project Status:
Completed
John MarcatoReviewed on 23/12/19
Python/Django Application Project
Role: Principal at TWE Solutions
Reviewed on 23/12/19 by John Marcato
Role: Principal at TWE Solutions
Python/Django Application Project
We’ve recently started working on a software tool—called Bacon—that complements our business, which is being developed by asap.
Bacon is a management platform for servers and workstations for enterprises that coordinates several open technologies. It allows for a more modern and easy-to-use management experience to do things like patching, installing and uninstalling software, remote scripting, monitoring, and general system control.
Our first goal for this project was to completely refactor a piece of code we had written in-house, as well as to have the front-end changed to ReactJS, which has been accomplished. Our next goal is to keep adding features and providing support for the product.

We went online and looked at reviews for companies specializing in Python and Django since our tool had been started using those. We did a worldwide search using numerous sources and finally narrowed it down to two that we liked. We actually started with a different firm but weren’t so happy with the experience so we brought asap in to take over and things have improved considerably since then.

asap provided us with full-stack development, i.e. both back-end and front-end development. However, before they could get started, they had to assess the existing code. They then had to work on the full refactor and the ReactJS front-end, which had to be completely rewritten. That was the scope of the first part of the project but, as I mentioned, it is now an ongoing relationship.

Regarding the team, Pablo Dacoll is our PM. He’s a great communicator who gives us good support and is skillful at translating our thoughts and ideas to the developers. Then, there’s Fabricio who is great at the more complex areas and at guiding the other software engineers. He mainly works on the back-end but is a full-stack developer so he can do front-end as well if needed. Finally, there are about six other team members working on either front (ReactJS) or back-end (Django and Python).
Pablo coordinates with four people on the TWE team: myself, our graphic designer and UX expert, our operations manager and one of our chief engineers. We communicate over Slack, email and web conferences. Our tracking methodology is pretty standard, with Jira for ticketing and a Kanban board for managing the project. I add tasks directly to the board and assign them. When dealing with larger requirements, asap gives me estimates regarding time expectations to get an idea of the cost and I approve them accordingly so they can be implemented. Pablo also provides weekly breakdowns on the number of hours, which, together with a monthly report, makes billing and productivity easy to follow.

We’re very happy with asap and the relationship we’ve built with them so far. They are very transparent and have an extremely talented team. We’ve developed a more professional product that has allowed us to start bringing the early-adopter phase to the market. We are now actively marketing the product, which was a major long-term goal for us.
Our next major goal is to reach a certain level of maturity, going from the early-adopter phase—where bugs and not-fully developed features are to be expected—to having the features the customer needs in place and working properly 80% of the time. Hopefully, we’ll be finished at least with our planned, core features by the end of February. We then hope to achieve product maturity by mid-year—July or so.

What do you like most about the company?

I like the transparency from Pablo and the team, as well as the access to top engineers. asap is very easy to collaborate and communicate with as everyone has good bedside manners. I also appreciate the way billing is handled. Sometimes PMs, and even competitors in our own business, gauge their customers by overbilling. That is not the case with asap; Pablo bills us very fairly and it actually doesn’t add up to that much. He adds a lot of value for the money we pay.

What they should improve on?

That’s a tough question; I’d say anybody can find something to improve. In this case, it might be making what each member is capable of more clear. I feel knowing their exact level of proficiency would aid communication. But that’s the only thing I can think of. I hope the work stays as rigorous and intense as it has been so far because we have a lot left to do. We haven’t worked together for that long and I hope it stays consistent since, if it does, it would be the perfect partnership for us.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
App Designing (UI/UX)
Project Status:
In progress
Paul BuckleyReviewed on 7/11/19
Great experience working with Asap!
Role: Managing Owner at Ratio Staffing
Reviewed on 7/11/19 by Paul Buckley
Role: Managing Owner at Ratio Staffing
Great experience working with Asap!
The initial goal was to create a prototype of an idea I have to prove certain things were possible in order to develop an app in the future. For example, we wanted to make sure we could auto-populate and fax a form required by the government for hiring a teacher. With that in mind, I looked for development and software companies online and happened to see an ad from asap offering a free consultation. This was something no other companies offered and I really appreciated it. I also did some more research into the company and saw they had good reviews. It was a very pleasant experience so I am very happy I chose them.

Work with asap began by detailing the process. I wrote down the steps from the user experience point of view and they reviewed it and asked some questions. asap then brought the team on board to do a basic wireframing of the app and put together some process flows. As for team composition, Pablo worked as the Project Manager and we worked with a couple of developers as well. There were four to five people working on the project; it was fun to work with them, I really enjoyed it. I appreciated their questions; this was a new field for them but everyone was very excited to work on it and genuinely enjoyed learning about it.

Project management was extremely effective. We had online meetings once a week to review progress, answer questions, and give each other updates. In addition to that, we also emailed throughout the week if something came up, which made me feel they were very engaged and proved they were very organized and knew what they were doing.
Regarding the results, personally, the impact was huge. I felt remotivated and reenergized to continue with the project. Moreover, it forced me to refocus as it showed me there was a lot more still to do. Professionally, it has also made a difference because now it’s more than just an idea. Although it’s still a prototype, I’m a step closer to having the finished application. The biggest potential issue was the faxing of the form and we have proven that it can be solved.

I really enjoyed working with asap. In addition to getting a top-quality product, they genuinely care about their clients, which is why I am now working on acquiring funding so I can keep working with them.

What do you like most about the company?

I was impressed with a lot of things. But I guess what particularly impressed me was their personal touch and the fact that what I read online was true, and what they said they would do was also true. They are genuinely nice people that happen to be doing good work as well. I was also very impressed by the free consultation offer.

What they should improve on?

Nothing I can think of.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
In progress
Drew FieroReviewed on 27/6/19
Quality Development at a Fair Price
Role: President & CEO at First Person
Reviewed on 27/6/19 by Drew Fiero
Role: President & CEO at First Person
Quality Development at a Fair Price
I’m the CEO and one of the co-founders of First Person, a designer storytelling agency. We take care of developing and creating our customers’ strategy, customer journey, applications, physical events, presentation materials, and brand design, among other things, in order to help them achieve their goals.

We were looking to have a single source of truth to manage all projects so we decided to develop a project management tool. This makes it much faster and easier to create and find a project. We developed the application —which binds our workload together— internally, and asap helped with some of the integrations, which allowed us to use all of our tools at the same time.
Every time we create a job, our application (Mission Control) creates a unique job number as well as all the information for that job. It also changes the status of the job as it moves through the pipeline and archives all our projects, meaning we can track every aspect of the project and make sure everything is synchronized properly.

Regarding the integrations, we spoke to different companies and were looking for one that was easy to work with and communicate but also cost-effective as this is an internal tool and we have to pay for it ourselves. Ignacio introduced us to the asap team and the fact it was a remote one was a big factor as it fulfilled the cost-effectiveness condition. We have worked with many remote teams in the past and we thought asap was better managed as they have better communication and provide constant updates on what’s going on.

We’ve had two iterations with asap on this project so far. They rewrote the integration for Asana and wrote the one for Accelo, and are currently working on integrating the third tool. They’ve also helped us with other issues, like a Google update that caused one of the integrations to stop working.

As for the team, asap provided us with a project manager, an account manager and two developers (Fabricio and Gonzalo), with a third developer added recently. The work with them has been pretty seamless as the developers are very good at sharing information and don’t require us to repeat details to each member. We have great team calls where I outline what we’re trying to do and the team asks any questions that may arise later on.

Our tool —along with these integrations— saves tons of hours but also ensures consistency (which means our staff doesn’t have to remember every detail of the process). We don’t depend on existing software to do everything for us, we have our own, which has been really nice and has added flexibility.

What do you like most about the company?

Willingness to be agile. They provided rough estimates for time and then worked with me to get my project completed on target. Definitely the quality of the work. Working with asap means guaranteed high-quality and consistency. They’re also really good at listening. They’ve provided assessment for other projects and how hard it would be to carry them out, which has been really helpful when it comes to deciding if it’s worth doing. I think they’re very good partners.

What they should improve on?

The only thing I can think of is their time estimates. They are usually low, though not by much. I understand that it is difficult to accurately estimate how many hours a project will take and don’t think much can be done about it. The only real friction we’ve had is that sometimes, although there has been no progress, we still get a bill. But I think that’s just part of trying to work out a problem. You may put in a lot of hours and see no results until you figure it out. I think just by keeping us informed on this, it would improve. And also, they have been times when they were actually very generous by not charging us until they’ve figured an issue out. They've been very good at working to keep costs under control.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Software Development
Project Budget:
$10001 to $50000
Project Duration:
6 Weeks
Project Status:
Completed
Bernie HoltgreiveReviewed on 4/6/19
WealthSite Review of asap
Role: Partner at WealthSite
Reviewed on 4/6/19 by Bernie Holtgreive
Role: Partner at WealthSite
WealthSite Review of asap
I am a partner and project manager at WealthSite, a company that provides a software solution platform for wealth advisors. The company was founded in 2006 and we have a niche market serving a very specific segment within the wealth management industry. We set ourselves apart from our competitors through our customization approach by building specific functionality to meet our clients’ needs.

We hired asap about 8 or 9 years ago to as the primary developers for our solution. We wanted someone to be able to provide clients with customized solutions in a short span of time, which is part of what sets us apart from the competition.
In addition to new functionalities, asap also takes care of upgrading our app for changes in our technology platform and solving any possible AWS environment issues by configuring it and keeping it current. We actually reinvented ourselves three years ago and built a new AWS-based solution —we migrated a legacy app that we had— so we now have a very modern tech stack that has helped us find new opportunities.

As for the team, I usually run point as project manager and work closely with a lead developer (Fabricio) with whom we have a good working relationship. If necessary, more developers come on board and, on occasion, we’ve also required the help of a tester and a UI designer. We use planning software (Trello) for the lifecycle of the development process —features, functionalities, bugs and the like. We also rely heavily on Skype for communication; we have calls twice a day and message back and forth several times in between.

What do you like most about the company?

They are as talented and capable in their field as any other company we’ve worked with within the States. They have a friendly, committed and well-grounded team. We have a solid relationship, and we really enjoy working with them. Furthermore, they’ve gone above and beyond for us, including staying after hours to resolve a specific issue. To us, asap is actually an extension of our business, a critical piece of who we are.

What they should improve on?

Not really, we touch base often to improve our process and make adjustments based on feedback. It would be nice for them to be more proactive in some cases, but that’s sort of understandable as, in our case, they devote themselves solely to development and are not in charge of project management. Truth is, it is highly unusual to find such a good long-term relationship with a third-party development team.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Web Development
Project Budget:
$200000+
Project Duration:
100+ Weeks
Project Status:
In progress
Michael PriceReviewed on 10/5/19
Wonderful people, and high quality services
Role: Senior Marketing Manager at Google
Reviewed on 10/5/19 by Michael Price
Role: Senior Marketing Manager at Google
Wonderful people, and high quality services
We had a lot of web projects in the backlog and very limited internal web development resources, meaning we needed a go-to source for all web development needs. Our website is our primary source for new customers, so we needed to complete tasks swiftly and iterate quickly.

I interviewed around five other agencies, but the people at asap developers were the most knowledgeable, friendly, and understanding of our needs —it was an easy choice to make. After choosing them, they spoke to our technical team, who also gave them the green light without hesitation.

asap developers plugged a resource gap, becoming that go-to source for all our web development needs. They work on a plethora of tasks for us, from building our CMS using Netlify to creating landing pages, one-off site changes, mobile optimization, migrations, and more. I provide requirements and design files as necessary and asap developers are able to translate those specs into a final product very quickly. They manage projects from start to finish, communicate any issues that arise, and suggest alternatives, if necessary.

They provide us with a project manager, one to two developers, and a designer, depending on the tasks. Project management is handled very smoothly. We use Trello for managing tasks, Slack to communicate regularly, and weekly calls to discuss current and future projects, as well as any bottlenecks or blockers.

Having them on board makes us able to quickly turnaround a variety of web tasks, which has helped substantially with website conversions, traffic, and engagement. asap developers’ experienced and highly adaptable staff works swiftly while maintaining clear and regular communication, making them a stellar long-term partner. The results have exceeded my original expectations. I couldn't have asked for a better outcome.

Their ability to quickly deliver projects and adapt to our needs is remarkable. We’re a startup and we like to move quickly; asap developers match those needs perfectly. They also communicate very well and are transparent.

What do you like most about the company?

Their ability to quickly deliver projects and adapt to our needs is remarkable. We’re a startup and we like to move quickly; asap developers match those needs perfectly. They also communicate very well and are transparent.

What they should improve on?

Nothing comes to mind. I've been completely satisfied thus far.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Web Development
Project Budget:
$50001 to $200000
Project Status:
In progress
Francisco LoureiroReviewed on 29/3/19
Stellar quality and service!!!
Role: Founder, Developer and Product Manager at P.E. For Hire, LLC
Reviewed on 29/3/19 by Francisco Loureiro
Role: Founder, Developer and Product Manager at P.E. For Hire, LLC
Stellar quality and service!!!
asap developers built and provided maintenance for a web app while also handling documentation and taking on an advisory role. Their main focus was on creating a scalable and reliable product based on AWS.

Thanks to their knowledgeable team, the web app serves as a trustworthy and exclusive marketplace for finding professional engineers. asap developers conducted a seamless workflow and delivered top quality at an impressively affordable price compared to other local vendors.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Web Development
Project Status:
In progress
Agustn Calvo LindholmReviewed on 19/3/19
Asap Developers, people you can trust.
Role: Co Founder at Wannaclap
Reviewed on 19/3/19 by Agustn Calvo Lindholm
Role: Co Founder at Wannaclap
Asap Developers, people you can trust.
We contacted asap because we wanted to develop a video-streaming platform focused on the music industry. Our idea was to connect up-and-coming musicians with businesses in the industry and give them an opportunity to showcase their talents. We needed both a web and a mobile app to form an online community that made it easy for parties at both ends of the spectrum to connect.

We actually met with several development teams, but asap stood out because they were focused on more than just the technical aspects. They actually gave us advice on how to improve our user experience and design, and they were very knowledgeable regarding startups and the best strategies to optimize our project beyond the development of our app. They even recommended material for us to read up on.

After deciding to work with them, we first met to discuss the details of the platform, which proved extremely useful. As I’ve mentioned, asap had a lot of advice on user experience and they offered a comprehensive service overall. We had no problem establishing requirements, design, and improvements to our initial project. We worked closely throughout development and communication was very fluid.

One of our biggest concerns was obtaining a scalable solution that would allow our business to grow and go global. The asap team recommended Elastic Beanstalk and S3 since these technologies are flexible enough to support our growth without having to make changes later on. Now, people from across the globe can sing up and upload content.

asap delivered a great tool with profiles for both musicians (who can upload and share their videos) and industry actors (producers, managers, recording studios, etc.). The platform runs very smoothly, with no problems other than the expected minor bugs that have been quickly resolved, and users have responded wonderfully to it.

What do you like most about the company?

I think the main highlight for us was that the team was proficient and knowledgeable in all areas, which became even more evident through their work as the project progressed. They are also extremely trustworthy, ethical and transparent; we received reports of the hours spent on our project and could request meetings regularly to discuss any details.

What they should improve on?

The only thing that comes to mind is the hour estimates for the project. We have now resolved this and it wasn’t a major issue, but, in some cases, there were differences between the actual hours and the estimates that were more significant than expected. I think adjusting that a bit or even just giving the client more of a heads up on it would avoid some friction.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Software Development
Project Status:
In progress
Matt DerrigoReviewed on 18/2/19
This is not a good firm...it's a GREAT firm!
Role: Founder and CEO at Mozzo
Reviewed on 18/2/19 by Matt Derrigo
Role: Founder and CEO at Mozzo
This is not a good firm...it's a GREAT firm!
As a startup, we made the decision to initially partner with an established development company instead of building our internal development team. By selecting ASAP, they provided us a seasoned team that was able to accelerate our time to market.

Our goal for ASAP was to build a modern, scalable, high performing solution. We also wanted them to develop an app for both Android and iOS integrated with Stripe and Plaid to securely connect bank accounts and transacting payments of all sizes.

ASAP took the reins from our wireframes and prototype in Moqups. From there, their designer helped create a beautiful interface that drove the development of a React Native mobile app. The app integrates with Stripe to accept online payments and with Plaid to verify users' bank accounts. The app uses Firebase to deliver Push Notifications and Google Maps for geolocation. The backend was developed with Python, has a PostgreSQL database, and it is hosted in Amazon Web Services.

Our core project team consisted of a project manager, designer, three developers of various skill, and a tester. On occasion others would step in to help with development or testing. We also had a senior architect perform a quality review at critical milestone of design. Overall a very stable, healthy team.
During the project we had standup meetings Monday, Wednesday and Friday and called adhoc meetings, as needed. We used three cloud-based tools to keep us on track: JIRA, Slack, and Skype video/chat. The most impactful tactic was documenting and contributing to JIRA tasks, bug reports and testing as one cohesive team. This tool combined with our meetings served as a highly efficient toolkit and create an effective project that was delivered successfully. And I should mention, my largest concern going into the project was the time difference (we’re in California), but that quickly became a non-issue. The team was highly responsive. It also helped they normally start their days late and work later, compared to the U.S. Overall, I had no frustrations with the time difference.

I can’t say enough about ASAP. Their honest and high integrity quickly established trust. The group was very receptive to feedback and quickly adjusted to changes. I did not find big egos, instead I found great partners working hard to understand the vision and driven to make it come true. Which in turn, led to the most effect remote team arrangement I’ve experienced.

This project has created the core solution of our startup. By developing this solution, we have successful demonstrated its value, have secured our first customers and have had several interested investors. The final product has been well received as an attractive, simple and intuitive solution – much to the credit of ASAP.

What do you like most about the company?

Their ability to work as a cohesive remote team.

What they should improve on?

Nothing comes to mind. Keep doing what you do!

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Budget:
$50001 to $200000
Project Duration:
20 Weeks
Project Status:
In progress
Andrew WallaceReviewed on 7/3/18
Great organization....highly technical, experienced, and ethical
Role: Chief Innovation Officer at Scaled Tech, Inc.
Reviewed on 7/3/18 by Andrew Wallace
Role: Chief Innovation Officer at Scaled Tech, Inc.
Great organization....highly technical, experienced, and ethical
The ASAP team has been working for me for 5 years. Our business has went from an idea to something serving thousands of other businesses. ASAP was a major contributor to our success.

What do you like most about the company?

I started working with them because they had very good English skills, fair prices, and in a US friendly time-zone. But, they are much more than that...I've now worked with multiple members of the ASAP team...they are highly creative, intelligent people. They help to identify and solve complex problems before they happen.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Web Development
Project Budget:
$200000+
Project Duration:
100+ Weeks
Project Status:
In progress
Grant BrooksReviewed on 13/9/19
Yoga App With Video Instructions For The Masses
Reviewed on 13/9/19 by Grant Brooks
Yoga App With Video Instructions For The Masses
I am the owner of the Yoga Collective, an online video screening yoga website. We have a library with over 1000 videos that users can watch in their own time and that keep different paces, levels, and styles in mind. We also have two studios, one in Venice Beach and another one in Santa Monica.

We wanted to build a mobile app that had the same functionalities as our website. They both needed to work hand-in-hand and mirror each other. We also needed them to share member bases and for users to be able to access both the website and the app, regardless of where they signed up. In addition to this, we wanted an app that was beautiful and user-friendly, and that had a similar look and feel to our website, but included more options and features. We needed a tool that would be more convenient to use on mobile devices and could also cast videos, since it was something our members had been asking for for quite a while. Our main goal was to help increase user retention and therefore have more long-term members.

I looked for app developers online through Google and found an infinite number, but wrote down fifteen names. I then visited their websites and scheduled meetings to get a feel of how they worked. I narrowed it down to three options and just had a really good feeling about asap and communication with them was great. To top it off, they even offered to do the initial design phase of the project and not charge me if I wasn’t happy with it (and I was already set on them before that). The design stage was very smooth and the project was extremely comprehensive, which proved I’d made the right decision.

Now we have a yoga app that lets users watch the existing videos from our website. asap also added integrations with Chromecast, Apple TV, and Amazon Fire TV, which allow for more interaction with various devices. Moreover, users can now download and watch their videos offline and set meditation timers and daily reminders for when they want to take a class. The app also gives users the option to add background meditation music to the videos.

Regarding the team, we had a project manager (Pablo) that worked with us from design to launch. There was also a designer (Fabricio) and four or five developers, each working on a different aspect of the project. We had meetings twice a week where everyone was involved. Project management was extremely effective. The twice-weekly meetings helped with accountability as we discussed the goals for the week every Monday, and checked if they were met every Thursday. It was very methodical, with a good pace and great communication.

It has only been three months since the app launched, but our members had been asking for a solution like this for years. Our website customers were leaving or not signing up because they weren’t getting a full experience (they couldn’t stream our videos on their TVs, and the website was not so easy to navigate on mobile devices). Now we can offer a full product, which we expect will result in more long-term and happier members, thus increasing our revenue.

What do you like most about the company?

The whole team is very talented in what they do. The project managers are very organized and know how to push a project from A to Z. The designer was amazing and the developers are really great in their areas of expertise.

What they should improve on?

One can always improve but there was nothing noteworthy for this project. It was very smooth from start to finish. The asap team is made up of good people: they are honest, nice, and really trustworthy.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
App Designing (UI/UX)
Project Status:
In progress
Contact information
uy
Asap Developers
Av. 8 de octubre 2323 Apt. 1205, Montevideo, Montevideo 11200
Uruguay
59824081699
us
Asap Developers
535 Mission St, 14th floor, San Francisco, California 94105
United States
14159673920
View more