Jira

The #1 software development tool used by agile teams.

4.32 (52 Reviews)
About Jira
Jira Software is built for every member of your software team to plan, track, and release great software. Improve your workflow with world-class integrations so that your team can do its best work. Gain peace of mind with enterprise-grade solutions tailor-made to secure and ...
read more
Jira
The #1 software development tool used by agile teams.
4.32 (52 Reviews)
52 Reviews
allan trambouzeReviewed on 29/7/19
Software code within it excellent
Role: Consultant senior en technologie de l'information at Cofomo Québec
Reviewed on 29/7/19 by allan trambouze
Role: Consultant senior en technologie de l'information at Cofomo Québec
Software code within it excellent
Chetan MunegowdaReviewed on 2/3/20
Great Collaboration Tool
Role: Software Engineer at SemanticBits
Reviewed on 2/3/20 by Chetan Munegowda
Role: Software Engineer at SemanticBits
Great Collaboration Tool

Jira helps to bring both the businesses team and technical development team to come to a common agreement so the end goal for an organization can be achieved smoothly and efficiently.

Sumit BachaniReviewed on 2/3/20
JIRA is the best and most widely used Project Lifecycle management tool
Role: Senior Business Analyst at Cognizant
Reviewed on 2/3/20 by Sumit Bachani
Role: Senior Business Analyst at Cognizant
JIRA is the best and most widely used Project Lifecycle management tool

Jira is an awesome tool to manager projects and collaborate with team to get things done from end to end right from requirement grooming, development, logging/tracking bugs, creating epics and collaborating with team at large. It allows to create dashboard with multiple filters to have a one stop view of the progress of tickets. It allows for visualizations of tickets and the status they are in, track the releases. Overall a great tool for project management.

Krzysztof SzukiecReviewed on 27/12/19
Lots of adons and bit expensive but great
Role: CEO and Co-Founder at Stepwise.pl
Reviewed on 27/12/19 by Krzysztof Szukiec
Role: CEO and Co-Founder at Stepwise.pl
Lots of adons and bit expensive but great
Subhashree ChandrasekaranReviewed on 12/11/19
JIRA is easy to use by whole team
Role: Architect at Zilker Technology
Reviewed on 12/11/19 by Subhashree Chandrasekaran
Role: Architect at Zilker Technology
JIRA is easy to use by whole team

I have been using JIRA for many years and on many projects. It's quite easy to use and comes with other applications from Atlassian. We can integrate confluence and bitbucket with JIRA and that makes life easy for dev and team leads.

Samuel CorsoReviewed on 25/10/19
Very good. Use it for almost all of my software projects.
Role: Co-Founder and CEO at TechSuite
Reviewed on 25/10/19 by Samuel Corso
Role: Co-Founder and CEO at TechSuite
Very good. Use it for almost all of my software projects.

Pros: Lots of customizability with regard to task formats, workflows, etc.

Cons: Sometimes a bit too robust for very simple projects, in which case Trello will do.

Juan VidalReviewed on 23/10/19
Good to go
Role: CEO at jCor
Reviewed on 23/10/19 by Juan Vidal
Role: CEO at jCor
Good to go

JIRA is super complete but too difficult to get it working the way you need.

Kimberley MaunderReviewed on 15/10/19
Jira works better for project work
Role: SEO & CRO Specialist at Klyp
Reviewed on 15/10/19 by Kimberley Maunder
Role: SEO & CRO Specialist at Klyp
Jira works better for project work

At Klyp, we are a full-service Digital Marketing agency that specialize in Website design and development and also Marketing. We've been using Jira for many years because it worked very well for a software and website development point of view. It seems as though Jira works better for project work and it integrates with all of our third-party programs.

Vlad KytainykReviewed on 5/9/19
Best software I have used till now
Role: CTO at KitRUM
Reviewed on 5/9/19 by Vlad Kytainyk
Role: CTO at KitRUM
Best software I have used till now
Pandu PoluanReviewed on 31/7/19
Powerfully Customizable
Role: IT Security Manager at PT. Kreatif Media Karya
Reviewed on 31/7/19 by Pandu Poluan
Role: IT Security Manager at PT. Kreatif Media Karya
Powerfully Customizable

I had the good fortune of working with JIRA during one of my employment. It was a _very_ powerful system, choc-full of customization, and basically: If you can break something down into a flow(chart), you can use JIRA for it.

Sheri AtwoodReviewed on 9/7/19
The best agile software development tool
Role: Founder & CEO at SupportPay
Reviewed on 9/7/19 by Sheri Atwood
Role: Founder & CEO at SupportPay
The best agile software development tool
I have been a user of Jira for 10+ years and still believe they are the best for agile development teams, project management and product delivery. They are easily integrated with our other systems as well including ZenDesk and Salesforce and code management with BitBucket.
Nate MastersonReviewed on 13/5/19
Provides real-time data
Role: CMO at Maple Holistics
Reviewed on 13/5/19 by Nate Masterson
Role: CMO at Maple Holistics
Provides real-time data

Jira Software makes it really easy for my team members at Maple Holistics to create and collaborate on new software projects. It’s a good way to delegate jobs, plan, and keep track of everyone’s tasks in relation to the main list of things that need to get done. It also gives you real-time data so you can work with confidence that your information is accurate and relevant. And you can personalize the system to work with the needs of your individual team while incorporating tools that your team already uses.

Anton ZhukReviewed on 31/12/18
Jira as a Project Management & Workflow Software
Role: Managing Director at Whidegroup
Reviewed on 31/12/18 by Anton Zhuk
Role: Managing Director at Whidegroup
Jira as a Project Management & Workflow Software

Pros: Popularity

Cons: Too compelx for setup

Nazar HembaraReviewed on 28/12/18
I like it
Role: Managing Director at BotsCrew
Reviewed on 28/12/18 by Nazar Hembara
Role: Managing Director at BotsCrew
I like it

Pros: Good functionality

Cons: Price

Christopher Irish Reviewed on 27/12/18
Better than Trello
Role: Developer, Co-founder at Velocity Labs
Reviewed on 27/12/18 by Christopher Irish
Role: Developer, Co-founder at Velocity Labs
Better than Trello

Pros: Kanban style boards

Cons: Jira is heavy, lots to teach to use well

Overall Experience: I like Trello better, but Jira has better agile charts.

Haresh PansuriyaReviewed on 26/12/18
JIRA is great
Role: Digital Marketing Lead at iQlance Solutions
Reviewed on 26/12/18 by Haresh Pansuriya
Role: Digital Marketing Lead at iQlance Solutions
JIRA is great

Pros: As we can see then, the use of JIRA can bring several benefits to Agile teams and it really can help to improve productivity, efficiency and teamwork in general. Team members will be able to more effectively deal with their work backlog and prioritize the most important tasks.

Cons: One thing that ever bothered me about JIRA was the rank feature. It used to be a global rank, so I could I query issues and display them in results by order of priority (rank) regardless of what sprint they were in. Now rank is only applicable in the context of a sprint, which is not so powerful really if I want to prioritize across several teams regardless of the sprint.

Overall Experience: Being able to customize JIRA is great. It allowed us to adjust the use of the software to our needs and not the other way around.

Anastasiia VlasovaReviewed on 26/12/18
Our positive experience
Role: Marketing Manager at Relevant Software
Reviewed on 26/12/18 by Anastasiia Vlasova
Role: Marketing Manager at Relevant Software
Our positive experience

Pros: There is a very user-friendly interface.

Cons: Sometimes there is difficult to find previous projects because the type of sorting them out is not so easy.

Overall Experience: Generally speaking, our experience with this software is positive.

Celine LadoireReviewed on 24/12/18
Efficient and Good to use
Role: Editor & IT Coordinator at Widgety
Reviewed on 24/12/18 by Celine Ladoire
Role: Editor & IT Coordinator at Widgety
Efficient and Good to use

The fact that catches the most about JIRA platform is that it’s great and caters specifically to software development teams and as a project management software teams. A lot of their issues get dealt with efficiently. This platform is not reliable to give negative reviews but we found that although the software is flexible and robust, the comprehensive features seem complicated to use.

Valentina BashkatovaReviewed on 21/12/18
It's great
Role: Business Development Manager at Redwerk
Reviewed on 21/12/18 by Valentina Bashkatova
Role: Business Development Manager at Redwerk
It's great

Pros: Easy to use and have all the needed functions.

Cons: Don't see any

Lilia StoyanovReviewed on 18/2/20
Jira has superb configuration possibilities
Role: CEO at Transformify
Reviewed on 18/2/20 by Lilia Stoyanov
Role: CEO at Transformify
Jira has superb configuration possibilities

For project management, we prefer using Jira Atlassian to manage to assign and monitor tasks to our team members at Transformify. So far, it's convenient to use especially for our agile software development team with its powerful bug tracking capabilities and customization level. Generating reports about the team's velocity and easy viewing of time spent on by every team member on each task is what I love most about using Jira. Making changes is not as easy as Jira compared to other software. We need Jira's features to manage complex projects with so many subtasks.

Chris CoppenbargerReviewed on 26/3/20
The way they guide the customer at the starting stage of a business was really helpful
Role: Web Developer at Masterbuilt Manufacturing
Reviewed on 26/3/20 by Chris Coppenbarger
Role: Web Developer at Masterbuilt Manufacturing
The way they guide the customer at the starting stage of a business was really helpful
Hans HongReviewed on 16/3/20
Still best in class for software projects
Reviewed on 16/3/20 by Hans Hong
Still best in class for software projects
Jira still sets the bar for software project management. I hate that some things that should be standard need to be added via marketplace, with an additional cost, but the flexibility is very nice. Even better now that Automation is now going to be part of the standard offering.
Tory TroneReviewed on 2/3/20
Flexible and does everything we need
Role: Web Developer at United Church of God
Reviewed on 2/3/20 by Tory Trone
Role: Web Developer at United Church of God
Flexible and does everything we need

My organization switched to Jira for our project management because of how flexible and customizable the system was to use.

Kyle KochtanReviewed on 2/3/20
Jira for Enterprise Business Applications
Role: Technical Lead at Newell Rubbermaid
Reviewed on 2/3/20 by Kyle Kochtan
Role: Technical Lead at Newell Rubbermaid
Jira for Enterprise Business Applications

We use Jira as our primary workflow and ticket tracking system for all of our enterprise applications. We use this for our custom applications as well as as the purchased products. The Kanban board is a great option for SCRUM meetings.

John OstlerReviewed on 5/12/19
Most common tool used in our industry here in Chicago
Role: Co-founder at Eight Bit Studios
Reviewed on 5/12/19 by John Ostler
Role: Co-founder at Eight Bit Studios
Most common tool used in our industry here in Chicago

Cloud, all-in-one, easy to use, great for connecting to-dos and notes to assets and user stories.

Victoria NaichukReviewed on 24/10/19
Good
Role: Digital Marketing Specialist at Romexsoft
Reviewed on 24/10/19 by Victoria Naichuk
Role: Digital Marketing Specialist at Romexsoft
Good

Pros: You can solve a lot of management problems

Cons: Learning curve for non-tech people

Natalia MinayevaReviewed on 17/10/19
Positive
Role: Business Development Manager at Bamboo Agile
Reviewed on 17/10/19 by Natalia Minayeva
Role: Business Development Manager at Bamboo Agile
Positive

Pros: bugs fixing, communication, user-friendly interface, possibility to use scrum

Cons: price

Dean SalakasReviewed on 10/10/19
Best in my opinion
Role: Chief Party Dude at The Party People
Reviewed on 10/10/19 by Dean Salakas
Role: Chief Party Dude at The Party People
Best in my opinion

I have used Jira on multiple projects for my website - The Party People and would seem to be the best of the tools. It is also the most expensive which is the main deterrent for me. The software has its own limitations so not perfect scores but it’s the best in my opinion.

Kevin Van HeusenReviewed on 29/7/19
Solid project management for Agile development
Role: Software Architect at SpringAhead
Reviewed on 29/7/19 by Kevin Van Heusen
Role: Software Architect at SpringAhead
Solid project management for Agile development

Jira is a capable solution for managing agile software development projects. Jira has the ability to create sprints, add stories to a product backlog, prioritize stories and see an overall sprint dashboard that makes it easy to move stories to various states. In addition to story and task management Jira has decent facilities for bug tracking as well and works seamlessly with the rest of the product flow.

Abdul-Mumeen OlasodeReviewed on 22/7/19
A good Agile-focused project management tool
Role: Software Engineer at wellio
Reviewed on 22/7/19 by Abdul-Mumeen Olasode
Role: Software Engineer at wellio
A good Agile-focused project management tool
Jira is as a project management tool contains all the things you need to run agile methodology. It helps you manage every step of the way of your project development. that is a real pleasure to use, provided you know what you're doing. Though you may have to put in more time and effort that a small business does not have to spare, but for larger firms it's an excellent solution.
Phillip MacCallumReviewed on 1/7/19
Great tool for managing staff and workflow
Role: Director Of Sales And Business Development at OperationsCommander
Reviewed on 1/7/19 by Phillip MacCallum
Role: Director Of Sales And Business Development at OperationsCommander
Great tool for managing staff and workflow
Coming from a sales background it took me a little bit of time to learns the vitals of this extensive system but now that I've grown comfortable with the product I love the level of customization to my specific environment. I love the control I have over assigning tasks and helping them move through the board with collaborative effort.
Boni SataniReviewed on 13/5/19
It is a simple tool to create and assign tasks
Role: Digital Marketing Manager at Zestard Technologies
Reviewed on 13/5/19 by Boni Satani
Role: Digital Marketing Manager at Zestard Technologies
It is a simple tool to create and assign tasks

As Digital Marketing Manager of Zestard Technologies, my overall experience with Jira is excellent. It is a simple tool to create and assign tasks, track teams effort and maintain projects status. It enables users to create project roadmaps to map out all projects in progress. The project board includes a drag-and-drop option that allows teams to manage every project detail. Some pros and cons are:

Pros:

  • A better vision of the project for the team
  • Customizable options, Kanban and Scrum boards, can be modified as per the project
  • Easy task allocation and tracking, from both Managers and team members
  • Allows the user to create and edit a file and easily access the page
  • Integration with other applications used by the project is simple
  • Easy filtration options and report generation for project statuses
  • Offers extensive add-ons and pre-created templates for those just learning the service

Cons:

  • If the team member released from a project, he/she has no option to request through Jira to unsubscribe from getting emails related to projects
  • Inbox gets clumsy with all the comments and action performed by the team members
  • Too many features of this software sometimes can create a complexion
Paul PurczelReviewed on 13/5/19
Excellent for large projects
Role: Owner at Ace Web Design
Reviewed on 13/5/19 by Paul Purczel
Role: Owner at Ace Web Design
Excellent for large projects

I haven't used Jira for a couple of years now but found that at the time using it in a distributed team there was nothing that came close to it. Since the large project I was working on ceased and as an Owner of Ace Web Design, I found that I didn't particularly need the complexity that Jira brought to the table, which was absolutely necessary for a large distributed project but not really needed for the smaller projects I work with today.
Pros - Excellent workflow stages, flexibility and ability to have transparency at a level that you choose.
Cons - Long learning curve. Overly sophisticated and not suited for smaller projects.

Rushkar Information TechnologyReviewed on 1/1/19
Good for Rushkar
Reviewed on 1/1/19 by Rushkar Information Technology
Good for Rushkar

Pros: We can track Repo commit from It, it is also integrated with Chat Software, We can track the development status via charts etc etc

Cons: Sometimes its little Slow

Vadim Peskov Reviewed on 1/1/19
Understandable
Role: CEO & Co-Founder at Diffco
Reviewed on 1/1/19 by Vadim Peskov
Role: CEO & Co-Founder at Diffco
Understandable

Pros: It contains the industry standard.

Cons: It is difficult to explain to new developers.

Overall Experience: Okay when you know what to do.

Roger LüchingerReviewed on 31/12/18
No better alternative
Role: CEO at Smartfactory
Reviewed on 31/12/18 by Roger Lüchinger
Role: CEO at Smartfactory
No better alternative

Pros: Industry Standard

Cons: License Model

Timothy BrambleReviewed on 31/12/18
Pretty happy with it
Role: Partner, Managing Director at Meevo
Reviewed on 31/12/18 by Timothy Bramble
Role: Partner, Managing Director at Meevo
Pretty happy with it

Pros: The software does what it needs to as per its functionality.

Cons:  I don't use much of its functionality.

Zee GimonReviewed on 27/12/18
Most convenient tool
Role: Digital Operations Manager at The App Solutions
Reviewed on 27/12/18 by Zee Gimon
Role: Digital Operations Manager at The App Solutions
Most convenient tool

Pros: Convenient for corporate use because of permissions and access rights. You can also create custom complex workflows and track them.

Cons: In a company, it requires an additional person who manages all these workflows, access rights, setting up rules, workflows, creating users and boards and permissions.

Overall Experience: For the purposes of tracking tasks in the sprint - it's convenient.

Juan Jose FigueirasReviewed on 27/12/18
Overall Experience: Nice
Role: Co-Founder & CEO at ubykuo
Reviewed on 27/12/18 by Juan Jose Figueiras
Role: Co-Founder & CEO at ubykuo
Overall Experience: Nice

Pros: Thought for software developers

Cons: Not still prepared for Product Management

Anton ChernetskiyReviewed on 25/12/18
Good
Role: CTO at Broscorp
Reviewed on 25/12/18 by Anton Chernetskiy
Role: CTO at Broscorp
Good

Pros: Flexible and full-featured software.

Cons: The only thing I disliked about the software is that it is a bit clumsy.

Igor VivcharReviewed on 22/12/18
Hope for up gradation.
Role: Tech Marketing Expert at LaSoft
Reviewed on 22/12/18 by Igor Vivchar
Role: Tech Marketing Expert at LaSoft
Hope for up gradation.

Pros: You can do almost anything with it

Cons: Very often it's just too complex

Overall Experience: Good though could much be better

Agnieszka ZacherReviewed on 18/12/18
Average product
Role: Product Owner at Vazco
Reviewed on 18/12/18 by Agnieszka Zacher
Role: Product Owner at Vazco
Average product

Jira as a Project Management Software as many needed features, but too complicated. very poor and old-style interface. It is also an expensive tool. Overall there is no other tool that could give us what we need in our project but if there was any other solution we would consider it.

Jira as in a Workflow Software, you can define any workflow needed. But it is also seen that it is complicated for many people. Overall it is a good tool.

Rohit AroraReviewed on 18/12/18
Nice and Recommendable!
Reviewed on 18/12/18 by Rohit Arora
Nice and Recommendable!

Pros: It works perfectly for small, medium and large organisations.

Cons:- Admin part is complicated.

Overall Experience: Overall experience is nice. We are still using it and will continue to do so.

Jeff MetteReviewed on 31/12/18
Average review for the tool
Role: Vice President of Business Development at Digital Scientists
Reviewed on 31/12/18 by Jeff Mette
Role: Vice President of Business Development at Digital Scientists
Average review for the tool

Pros: Great for software development.

Cons: Not good for non-software.

Reuben YonatanReviewed on 13/5/19
I wouldn't vote for JIRA as a project management software.
Role: Founder and CEO at GetVoIP
Reviewed on 13/5/19 by Reuben Yonatan
Role: Founder and CEO at GetVoIP
I wouldn't vote for JIRA as a project management software.

To be quite honest, my freelance team of GetVoIP and I find JIRA too cumbersome for its own good. There are too many notifications attached to each ticket. Rather than enhancing how well items are tracked, this clutter in the inbox leads to items that fall through the cracks and are lost.

Stanislav NovokhatkoReviewed on 1/1/19
I would not recommend,
Role: Business Developer at Incode-group
Reviewed on 1/1/19 by Stanislav Novokhatko
Role: Business Developer at Incode-group
I would not recommend,

Pros: Mobile Application

Cons: Too buggy, too heavy, too complicated

Overall Experience: IMHO this is not the best solution, I would not recommend, but our boss like it :)

Richard ChenReviewed on 30/3/20
Best in Class
Role: Lead Application Developer at Jay Franco and Sons Inc.
Reviewed on 30/3/20 by Richard Chen
Role: Lead Application Developer at Jay Franco and Sons Inc.
Best in Class

Our use case is internal CRM so our customer support department of ~900 users can see the progress of any employee anywhere in the firm in the clear without delay. Fast interface means ease of use which makes users want to file even the seemingly smallest idea so we have better feedback and nothing is lost. Significant integration (sso, Git webhook, etc.) means we've confidence JIRA will adapt to even future systems. Prospective employees often use it & thus no delay in their using the ticketing system with confidence. We considered Trac and Bugzilla but both are very old, no new features, barely any integrations, require custom hosting, etc. Trac is as basic as the subversion with which it's often associated in feature set, requires signifiant time and patience to set up much less customize/configure, and is being abandoned by most industry folks. Bugzilla is a classic solution which holds up, but has an interface which causes non-developer users to not want to use it. Interface counts for first impressions and confidence which are big, especially for non-tech departments of which most of ours are. Tech and customer support are fair for a service of this size with consistently earnest responses over the whole nearly 10y of our use of Jira, an impressive streak of non-variance. Our requests are namely reporting frontend bugs and quirks which are often resolved over time, usually a feature is deployed within a year of our suggesting, likely not as a direct result thereof but shows investment in the product, and bugs are sooner, within weeks which is fair given the immense global user base. We're pleased with the essentially included-in-price support. We use Jira closely with Bitbucket and Confluence, its siblings in the Atlassian world. Our primary project finds multiple issues daily due to the project's complexity in all senses: business-wise, politically, technically, developer resource constraints, time constraints, and limited intake managers. That said, we must be very efficient and judicious about how we file all the reported errors, new features, critical bugs, re-categorizing in between, etc. JIRA's great interface allows us to search and tag and make fast large-scale edits to this torrent of tasks to bring it into order. The public visibility and linking tasks also helps organizing such a large volume of tickets with so few people. Without JIRA, either people wouldn't be able to submit requests at all to a sane system or the interface would be so dissuading as to cause them to not speak up. JIRA is the tool to tame a beyond-human scale of requests. All in all JIRA's superb for a solid decade plus.

MaharishiReviewed on 8/1/20
Fully customizable, Very handy, Great reports, Awesome
Reviewed on 8/1/20 by Maharishi
Fully customizable, Very handy, Great reports, Awesome
Ashwin MorReviewed on 4/3/20
JIRA - #1 software development tool
Reviewed on 4/3/20 by Ashwin Mor
JIRA - #1 software development tool
Jira helped our agile teams to plan, track, and release great software. It's used widely as the best SW development tool. It's so easy to use, flexible to configure, great for tracking of tickets while leading meetings, accessible from everywhere.
PixelPlexReviewed on 7/1/20
The leader in all
Reviewed on 7/1/20 by PixelPlex
The leader in all
JasonReviewed on 10/12/19
Comfortable to use
Reviewed on 10/12/19 by Jason
Comfortable to use

Pros: Great for agile teams

Cons: Too many moving pieces and the learning curve is hard

R RecrutReviewed on 31/12/18
Good system
Reviewed on 31/12/18 by R Recrut
Good system

Pros: Flexibility and Possibilities.

Cons: Price

Overall Experience: Good system but rather expensive.

Key Details
Software trial:

7 Days

Starting Price:

$7/Month

Check vendor pricing
Platforms: