Utility

Crafting award-winning mobile and web apps

5.00/5 (14 Reviews)
Utility specializes in crafting custom mobile applications and web software with innovative partners, from startup ventures to Fortune 500 brands. Founded by digital leaders from companies like Major League Baseball and McCann Erickson, Uti...
read more
$150 - $199/hr
50 - 249
2013
United States, Canada
Utility
Crafting award-winning mobile and web apps
5.00/5 (14 Reviews)
The best app agency in the industry, hands down
Reviewed 6 months ago by Malcolm Gillian
Role: CMO at Fivestar Training
I was the CMO of Fivestar Training, a funded mobile tech business that leveraged the iconic Fivestar brand to produce a suite of youth sports applications that incorporated pro-level instruction across various sports. We wanted to produce a cutting edge mobile application that served up premium sports instructional content and training programs to the masses. We needed a great development company who can build out our entire product. We also had high profile celebrity athletes on board like Wayne Rooney and Alex Morgan (both global soccer stars), among others, so we needed a partner that was used to playing at high levels. Utility created everything from UX and UI design services to mobile technology services, backend technology services (including server setup), CMS [content management system] web platform development, website design and development, and strategic digital counsel. They basically handled an end-to-end buildout of a slick mobile app, iOS only, that worked in all environments. I’ve worked with tons of digital vendors personally, and Utility stacks up with the best. I cannot risk my reputation when recommending or hiring firms, but I’ve only had positive experiences with them.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
The most trusted firm in the business for premium mobile work
Reviewed 6 months ago by Casey Huke
Role: President & Co-Founder at Football Genius
I’m the President of a complex play-by-play mobile application business that lets users predict plays for each NFL game in a season. We have cash prizes and social gaming features. We wanted a supportive development partner that could launch the app during the 2018 NFL season and Utility helped us built a custom backend. They had to develop the app from scratch. The app included features such as complex statistics, a prediction engine, and an admin panel that enables real-time updates. We launched the app midway through the season and also received incredibly positive user feedback. The app developed by the team of Utility achieved great reviews and significant social media activity from high-profile industry stakeholders. Users have stayed on the solution for upwards of 55 minutes per session, which is unheard of in our industry. This success enabled us to raise over $2 million in seed funding. Thanks to Utility for all the efforts.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Truly the highest quality and greatest attention to detail
Reviewed 6 months ago by Junior Desinor
Role: CEO & Founder at TOOR Technologies
I’m the CEO of a real estate smart-lockbox company. We worked with Utility as a full-scale mobile app and web development partner. We wanted high-quality, scalable, stable and technology systems to build our business on. The team gave us immediate attention and in-depth conversations right off the bat, and our meeting at their office sealed the deal. The team built the system’s backend infrastructure and server management tools. They also created a web application, an Android and iOS application, and a sophisticated Bluetooth and encryption integration between the apps and the lockbox firmware. The technology and applications they developed allowed us to launch the business and gain capital and prospective customers right away. We appreciate the extreme efforts and dedication of the team Utility to building products correctly and thoroughly the first time.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Utility was our trusted tech partner for a complex medical app startup
Reviewed 6 months ago by Brent Saiontz
Role: President & Co-Founder at SirenMD
Our company is three years old, and we provide a HIPAA-secure environment for communication and documentation between caregivers. Utility helped to build a platform available on iOS, Android, and Web - SirenMD. Our primary client bases are high schools, colleges, and professional athletic teams, as well as hospitals, urgent care centers, and other types of health systems. We are the mobile electronic medical record for all things sports medicine. Utility’s primary responsibility was buildout the entirely new platform, followed by developing and adding new features ongoing. Utility in terms of speaking the developmental language, then conveying to us exactly what we needed to do. They had great recommendations, and one of our staff members had had a good experience with them in the past. Working with Utility for a long time was a positive experience throughout. The company helped both in terms of product maintenance and adding new features. The total number of organizations or teams we work with have increased from zero to 35 in the one-year span of working with Utility. Clients have complimented the great UI/UX, simplistic layout, and ease of navigation. They were always attentive and got back to us when we needed it. Geography was not an issue, even though they are based in New York and most of us are based in South Florida.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Utility make everything easy for us, and delivered at super high quality!
Reviewed 6 months ago by Erica Ravich White
Role: Account Executive at Clarity Staffing
Clarity is a recruiting firm in New York City. We needed someone urgently to take over our web/mobile design and development, as our previous developer was not delivering and we couldn’t wait any longer. Utility took over everything. We needed to clean up the previous developer’s work, tons of it, and develop the new things we wanted that we simply had not gotten to yet. They first fixed everything, then they helped us implement many more dozens of features and functionalities (and redesigns) that our previous developer never got to. They helped with graphic design, UX, UI, backend and frontend development, QA, testing, and release management. The project they inherited required a lot of code refactoring and improvements before they could stabilize the product and help us prepare it for a public re-launch. They were definitely creative and proactive. Utility typically takes on larger projects, but they saw the potential in working and growing with us. Things went really smoothly even though we moved really fast. They were totally in control and organized. They're extremely thorough, which, for non-digital people, makes it nice since we don’t know what we don’t know. They also provided us flexible pricing in all the service we took from them.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Utility is the best at what they do
Reviewed 6 months ago by Mariel Benjamin
Role: Director at Mount Sinai Hospital
I am a Director at Mount Sinai Hospital. Our new digital venture was funded by the Bezos Family Foundation. We had big plans to develop a robust e-learning software portal that brought to life all of our learnings, teachings, and engagement with families. We are made up of physicians, Ph.D.s, and other practitioners, most of which do not know much about digital at all. We knew what we wanted to achieve, but we needed a partner to help bring to life all of our plans in an online and mobile way. Utility completed a massive e-learning platform buildout that has more than 75+ minutes of animated educational video instruction for new doctors, as well as the entire tech platform needed to facilitate these learning cycles within the course. Utility was not the cheapest option at all (although not the most expensive either), but they struck us as the most capable of handling the wide range of digital/mobile work we were going to need over time. We have definitely hired other vendors, but Utility stands out as more professional, capable, and forward-thinking than any of the others we’ve dealt with.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Great mobile app developers making high quality products with clients
Reviewed 6 months ago by Katy Aucoin
Role: CEO & Founder at Dearduck
I am the CEO of Dearduck, an app that takes the guesswork out of gifting by working with consumer preferences. We had done a lot of testing and research in the market. It's a huge untapped market. We understood that lack of information was the root cause of the problem we were trying to solve, but we didn't know what we wanted to build exactly or how. We needed a partner that could help us build our product. Utility helped us take an MVP approach and figure out what we needed to know so that we could solve our problem without overbuilding. Utility took us from concept to wireframes and the development of our MVP. There are different complex backend layers to our app for gathering preferences and learning about a user's relationship with each of their connections, extending from friends and family to co-workers. We focus on hyper-personalization and integrate with different technologies for passing on repayments for retailers. We haven't gone over budget in any of our projects. If anything, we came under the projected amounts. My success with Utility has been measured by their ability to reach and fix any issues.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Utility always delivers, and they’re one step ahead so you don’t have to worry
Reviewed 6 months ago by Remy Sylvan
Role: Product Design Lead at FITCH
I was working at the time for an agency that was managing the music artist Usher. We had a couple of digital products that needed to be made, so we contacted Utility. Their main objective was to develop the core application for the upcoming music tour. We had a partnership with Target where we were hosting 4D content and experiences, and we also sold merchandise where users could get exclusive content while Usher was in town. There are special messages and notifications for fans, and he also sold certain exclusive and limited merchandise. At the time, he was releasing videos and music, so we could also host all of this content on the app as well. We needed mobile apps and a backend built, which is where Utility came in. The development cycle was pretty seamless. The app got about 3 million worldwide downloads over the course of the 8 months he was on tour. I’ve worked with a lot of dev shops, but Utility is my favorite because they’re able to dissect requirements and put them into actual tasks to make a great product in a timely manner. Their adaptability left a huge impression. It seemed like the entire team was behind me. I’ve worked with 10 different dev shops during my experience, and Utility remains on top.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Platform buildout in record time, with high quality work!
Reviewed 6 months ago by Dan Rozgony
Role: Senior Account Director at Verizon (at Civic Entertainment Group)
We’re a big experiential marketing company based in NYC. We needed a digital provider for a large project we were working on for a global Telecom brand of ours, so Utility was selected to handle all things digital design and tech. There was a global event coming up, so we needed an entire online experience and platform (mobile and web) for the large-scale conference which brought users together in one place. Utility was instrumental in helping us work through all of the challenges. Utility built the online meeting schedule tool for our clients to use for meetings, cancellations, additions to the calendar, and other functionalities. They created a seamless on-site process. The robust registration portal they built also had a reporting site, so it was important for us to see who was registered for what. It was a robust product due to its flexibility and ability to allow us to make changes, launch communications, and have an easily-viewable and manipulatable check-in sheet for the on-site process. The portals were also optimized for mobile. The entire project was a collaborative effort, but Utility provided tons of insight and creative thinking. They balanced the project with a budget and what they thought was reasonable. It exceeded some of the work we’ve received in the past. They performed well and were always on top of things.

What do you like most about the company?

We’ve worked with some good companies in the past, but we like Utility because of their boutique size and intimate attention. They’re very hands-on, and make the client feel like they’re really invested in their business. We’re very happy with their work, and the feedback was very good.

Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Utility is the best, I wouldn’t work with anyone else
Reviewed 6 months ago by Michael Ricciardi
Role: CEO at Mercury Capital Advisors
We hired Utility to rebuild our digital products and create a digital platform where people could invest in securities. We were out of our element with the work, so we knew we had to partner with an external agency. We had our own view of what we wanted it all to look like, and we worked with Utility so that they could capture the appropriate vision for it. I would say that they nailed it. That project required a huge amount of time and attention because it involved lots of different legal jurisdictions, tax implications, and regulatory considerations, all of which had to be constructed, in my view, with the appropriate connectivity, aesthetics, functionality and so forth. Our digital platform has gotten kudos as one of the top two or three on Wall Street. Utility is the greatest.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Top to bottom a very talented group of mobile specialists
Reviewed 6 months ago by Ryan Hegenberger
Role: President & Co-Founder at UrLife
UrLife Media takes user-generated content, gives is a custom narrative, and packages it in the style of a movie trailer, with custom stories, professional voiceovers, graphics, and visual effects. We do this by using actual, human editors, and not an algorithm. We needed a mobile technology platform which could help facilitate growth in this segment. The product we needed to create was unique in that it would move large amounts of video data across the web. It needed to be as user-friendly, intuitive and efficient as possible. We talked to a few companies early on and found that we weren't getting what we needed. Utility came from a few good references. We're based in LA, while Utility is New-York-based. Utility wanted to understand what our end result needed to be, and they helped shape it along the way. Utility built everything on both our site and our apps. With the first two companies we talked to, we had no framework for our project. Utility imagined everything from scratch. They did a ton of heavy lifting in order to get us to where we are. Utility has been instrumental in translating what we were asking for into an actual product, but also providing some education to us as far as how things are built and what the timelines are. From a responsiveness point of view, Utility was always there for us.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Super Bowl mobile app built with speed and quality for global brand
Reviewed 6 months ago by Jordan Pollak
Role: SVP Experiential at Cogent Entertainment Marketing
We’re an entertainment marketing agency, and we had a big mobile app/AR project for a global brand that was going to be at the Super Bowl. We knew Utility was knowledgeable in the space. We worked with Utility to create a unique, gamified mobile AR [augmented reality] solution. The app was for iOS and Android, and development was a 2–3-month process. Users could download the app, but since the AR mechanism was in our physical space at the event, we also had it set up as activation on iPads so they could do the field goal challenge through AR. Utility was able to organically tie the client into the football field. We might have reached out to other companies, but because of our cost and turnaround, Utility made the most sense. We have a good relationship with them. The end-client was thrilled. A couple of notable celebrities played the game too, and they also thought it was really cool. Utility delivered on a tight timeline and budget. Everyone was happy.
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Total success and a very happy client
Reviewed 6 months ago by Ray Borelli
Role: Managing Director at SkyBridge Capital
We needed to have live-streaming, tons of content, blogs, and other news and information circulating through our site in a dynamic way. We also needed a team on top of it in real time every day and every week since it was an ongoing live show. Utility designed and built out a totally new, custom web/mobile portal, which ran weekly before getting sold to FOX, which was a huge success. Ultimately, Utility was in charge of all things digital. They were the lead design and development team for the entire mobile/web portal, including backend, frontend, UI, UX, the live video streaming service architecture, and the CMS to control all the content on the web portal. Utility had such a good reputation, but they also made a point to come into our offices multiple times early on to strategize and discuss the assignment and how it might take shape. They produced really quality work, but their strongest quality is being responsive and communicative and responding to issues quickly when they arise. They were really helpful in educating us about digital and technology along the way, and I think that’s probably unique. They were patient with us, but also very aggressive with making sure we hit timelines. We felt like we had someone on our side, versus having an “outsourced agency.”
Rating breakdown
Quality
Reliability
Ability
Overall
Other details
Services:
Mobile App Development
Project Status:
Completed
Contact information
us
Utility
West 45th Street, NYC, New York 10036
United States
(212) 328-1167
GoodFirms